Meridian Recognizes School Board Members

Meridian Recognizes School Board Members for Their Commitment to Leadership and Learning
Posted on 11/15/2021

Meridian CUSD 223 is joining communities throughout the state to say “thank you” to local school board members on November 15, 2021. The date is officially designated each year as School Board Members Day in Illinois to honor these public servants for their contributions to our public schools.

“The job of a school board member, like all roles in education, seemingly gets more difficult each year.” said Meridian Superintendent, Dr. PJ Caposey. “Our Board of Education has been incredible to work with this year as they have stayed committed to our vision and values – even when things have been incredibly difficult.”

As community trustees for the schools, school board members have oversight in District 223 for an annual budget of over $ 20 million; 1400+ students in grades Pre-K through 12; and more than 250 employees.

Meridian 223’s Board takes their obligation to the community seriously and also gives back in many other ways. Meridian 223’s Board of Education has been recognized with numerous individual awards for their service and they have been awarded the Governance Award by IASB (highest award in the state for school board governance) in SIX CONSECUTIVE years for their continued commitment to doing the right work on behalf of our students.

The Meridian 223 Board of Education members are:

John Smith, BOE President, First elected: 2011
Jill Huber, BOE Vice President, First elected: 2015
Tim DeVries, BOE Secretary, First elected: 2013
Dr. Tim Flynn, First elected: 2011
Marsha Welden, First elected: 2013
Kristine Youman, First elected: 2013
Matt Rhodes, First elected: 2017